2007 Arthur J. Dixon Award


The AICPA Tax Division’s Tax Executive Committee (TEC) voted to bestow the Arthur J. Dixon Memorial Award for 2007 on Pamela J. Pecarich. Ms. Pecarich has spent her professional career in the the arena of tax policy and tax legislation in both the private and public sectors. She was a partner and director of tax policy for Coopers & Lybrand LLP, National Tax Services. Prior to that, she served as chief policy analyst for the House Committee on Ways and Means; staff director of the House Ways and Means Subcommittee on Oversight; director of the Office of Policy and Planning, Commodity Futures Trading Commission; and committee staff consultant to the California State Assembly's Committee of Revenue and Taxation.

Ms. Pecarich served roughly 18 years with the Tax Division and has participated in and chaired the Tax Legislative Liaison Committee, the Tax Shelter Issues Task Force, and the Tax Executive Committee. More recently, she chaired the task force that updated and released the AICPA's fundamental tax reform report. Her reach into other sectors of the tax community has included working with the American Tax Policy Institute, the Tax Council, the Tax Foundation, and the National Tax Association. She has also served on the IRS Commissioner's Advisory Group.

This prestigious annual prize was created to honor the memory of Arthur J. Dixon, a CPA known for his outstanding service to the tax profession and the Tax Division. It is the highest award given by the accounting profession in the area of taxation.

Newsletter Articles


Traps for the unwary: Tax Cuts and Jobs Act changes

By now many of us are familiar with the various provisions of the law known as the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA), P.L. 115-97. Here is a list of changes together with (perhaps) unexpected nuances.


Qualified business income deduction regs. and other guidance issued

The package includes final regulations, guidance on how to calculate W-2 wages, a safe-harbor rule for rental real estate businesses, and new proposed rules on the treatment of previously suspended losses.